Florida Real Estate License Requirements

Sales Associate:

At least 18 years of age
High School diploma or equivalent (GED)
Complete a 63 hour Sales Associate prelicensing course and pass a school exam
Submit an application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fees
Completion of electronic fingerprinting and criminal background check
Pass a state exam
Exceptions:

Attorneys with a current Florida Bar card in good standing
A four year degree in Real Estate from an accredited College or University
Brokers:

At least 18 years of age
High School diploma or equivalent (GED)
Complete a 72 hour Sales Associate prelicensing course and pass a school exam
Submit an application to the Division of Real Estate with the appropriate fees
Completion of electronic fingerprinting and criminal background check
Pass a state exam
Hold an active Sales Associate License for 12 months out of the past 5 years
Completed applicable Post Licensing Education
Exception:

A four year degree in Real Estate from an accredited College or University
Mutual Recognition for Sales Associates and broker Licensure

For NON-RESIDENTS ONLY (Must not be a resident of Florida at time of application)

Florida has reciprocity with 11 states:

Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado Connecticut, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Tennessee.

Applicants from Kentucky, Georgia, and Mississippi, must have obtained the Real Estate license by completing the educational requirements, satisfying the experience requirements, if any, and passing the Real Estate licensing examination of a state with which we have mutual recognition. Licensees can not claim mutual recognition if they obtained their license, in the mutual state, by reciprocity.

All other applicants must have obtained the Real Estate license by having met the education and examination requirements of the state with which Florida has mutual recognition.

Applicant must hold a valid, current and active real estate license, in good standing, issued by the Real Estate licensing agency in the state from which the applicant is applying.

The intent of these agreements is to recognize the education and experience that real estate licensees have acquired in another state. These agreements apply to nonresidents licensed in other jurisdictions. Each licensee who applies for Florida licensure from a state or jurisdiction that has a current mutual recognition agreement with Florida must pass a written Florida-specific real estate law examination. The exam consists of 40 questions of 1 point in value per question. A grade of 30 points or higher must be achieved to pass the exam. These agreements also ensure that Florida licensees have equal opportunity for licensure in those jurisdictions with which agreements are concluded.

Please note that Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Oklahoma, and Tennessee applicants must meet additional requirements.

Alabama Real Estate licensees must have held an active broker's or sales associate's license for at least 12 months during the preceding five years if the applicant is a broker.

Arkansas Real Estate licensees must have held an active broker's or sales associate's license for at least 12 months during the preceding five years if the applicant is a broker.

Colorado Real Estate licensees must have held an active broker or broker associate license for at least 12 months during the preceding five years if the applicant is a broker. Please note that a Colorado Broker Associate is the equivalent to a Florida Sales Associate.

Oklahoma real estate licensees must have held an active sales associate's license for at least 12 months during the preceding five years in the office of one or more real estate brokers if the applicant is a sales associate. (Sales Associate applicants must have an active license for at least 12 months during the preceding 5 years.)

Tennessee broker applicants must have three (3) years active experience as a sales associate or broker prior to application. (Must have held an active license for 3 years before being eligible to file a broker application.)

APPLICANTS LICENSED IN A STATE WITHOUT MUTUAL RECOGNITION

If an applicant is licensed in another state which does not have mutual recognition agreement with Florida, they may qualify for a Broker's Course here instead of a Sales Associate course.

If a person has held an active real estate sales associate license for at least 12 months during the preceding 5 years in the office of one or more real estate brokers licensed in any other state, territory or jurisdiction of the United States or in any foreign national jurisdiction.

OR

If a person has held a current and valid broker's license for at least 12 months during the preceding 5 years in any state, territory or jurisdiction of the United States or in any foreign national jurisdiction.

These applicants are required to take the 72 hour Brokers Pre-License course and State Exam as well as the 60 hours of Broker's Post License Education during the first renewal period as all other Broker Licensees must.

Applicants for either exam must complete the appropriate state application form, electronic fingerprinting, and current certification of license history.